Current bank lending rates Dubai

New to buying shares? Have a question you're afraid to ask? Ask here about PEs and EPSs and PBVs...

Current bank lending rates Dubai

Postby FinanceStudent » Tue 01 Dec 2009 14:43

Hi I am new to this form.. so please forgive me if i ask stupid questions..

Is it true that the lending rates in banks (specially for business finance) have gone up recently in Dubai (after DW standstill) ?

Where can i get a chart or some details to check prevailing lending rates in the UAE?

Thanks.
FinanceStudent
pauper

EIBOR

Postby fayesloan » Tue 01 Dec 2009 18:17

The lending rate likely to be affected is the Emirates Interbank Borrowing Rate pronounced Eeee-bor. The EIBOR's are an attempt to calculate at what general rate banks in the UAE lend Dirhams to each other. HSBC used to calculate them, but now that may have changed and the central bank may be in charge of figuring these out using the interbank bid and ask rates of several major local and foreign banks.
EIBOR's are given for different time periods, or "tenors" as banks like to call these periods. So when you call your banker or your bank's treasury department and ask them about the recent trend in EIBOR, they will have to ask you which one you are interested in. 1 week, One month, Two, Three, Six months or one year? The ordinary bankers would usually have access to the EIBOR's for the day, but the people in treasury will be able to give you historical rates.
If you have access to a Bloomberg or Thomson Reuters you will be able to pull up the EIBOR's. Bank treasury departments nd investment houses will have these terminals.
I've not followed EIBOR's during the DW standstill episode but it would make sense for interbank rates to have gone up.